The Prodigal Son Vinyl LP

The Prodigal Son Vinyl LP

Regular price$25.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

Ry Cooder’s latest album, The Prodigal Son, is all America, our spiritual, hopeful voices, our raw cries and our sly provocations, voiced through the songs of the Pilgrim Travelers, The Stanley Brothers, Blind Willie Johnson, and Cooder himself. This is black and white gospel church music, our own history of the spirit, sounding completely fresh and contemporary, framed by Cooder's expressive vocals and graceful, elegant guitar work. Aided by his son, drummer and chief collaborator, Joachim Cooder, The Prodigal Son is a deft commentary on our ailing moral state. This is music for these times, a fearless dive into the country’s soul and the man, Ry Cooder.

Release Date:
May 18th, 2018

1. Straight street (4:02)(James W. Alexander/Jesse Whitaker)
2. Shrinking man (4:07) (Ry Cooder)
3. Gentrification (3:13) (Ry Cooder / Joachim Cooder)
4. Everybody ought to treat a stranger right (3:46) (Traditional; Blind Willie Johnson, Arranged by Ry Cooder)
5. The prodigal son (4:38) (Traditional: Arranged by Ry Cooder /Joachim Cooder,)
6. Nobody’s fault but mine (6:07) (Blind Willie Johnson / Arranged Ry Cooder / Joachim Cooder)
7. You must unload (5:26) (Alfred Reed)
8. I’ll be rested when the roll is called (3:11) (Traditional; Blind Roosevelt Graves, Arranged by Ry Cooder)
9. Harbor of love (5:46) (Carter Stanley)
10. Jesus and woody (5:57) (Ry Cooder)
11. In his care (3:39) (William L. Dawson)

You may also like

Recently viewed