In Memory Of Loss Forest Green Vinyl 2LP

In Memory Of Loss Forest Green Vinyl 2LP

Regular price$34.98
Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

Limited Edition Translucent Forest Green Vinyl 2LP. 2023 Pressing of 500 copies. 

The first things you notice are the voice and the space. That voice belongs to Nathaniel Rateliff, a man who's earned the twang and hard-knock weariness that shines through on his Rounder debut. The space comes courtesy of producer Brian Deck (Califone, Iron & Wine, Modest Mouse), who helped transform 8-track bedroom demos into miniature epics of contrast, beauty, and yearning. In Memory of Loss is a stunning, heartbreaking sonic document from a singer-songwriter who's made his way from a childhood in Bay, Missouri (pop. 60) to the national stage. Rateliff's debut album is rooted in a bygone era. It's both fresh and classic, imbued with a melancholy nostalgia, the rough candor of rock `n roll's past and the warmth and earnestness of folk storytellers. These thirteen tracks, with their soulful minimalism, hint of the music he grew up on - Van Morrison, Muddy Waters, The Beatles ­- yet Rateliff is also at home in what may be called, for lack of a better term, the neo-folk revival. His voice is so confident that you can occasionally imagine the music dropping out entirely, a song propelled solely by Rateliff's a capella strengths ­- equal parts church spiritual and TV On The Radio riffing on The Pixies. This persistent troubadour has struggled and persevered to this point. Now, the wider world is ready for Nathaniel Rateliff.

Nathaniel says of the album: “My goal is to make people have honest emotions and a real experience by listening to music in the same way that I feel, the same way that most people feel when they listen to music, that it touches them in some way”.

  • Originally released on May 4, 2010
  • Double LP pressed on 180 gram vinyl at 33RPM
  • Completely remixed and remastered for vinyl
  • 2 new bonus songs “You Make All The Noise” & "Pounds and Pounds” 
  • Redesigned Artwork

 Track Listing:

Side A

  1. Once In A Great While
  2. Early Spring Till
  3. We Never Win
  4. Brakeman
  5. Longing and Losing

Side B

  1. Oil & Lavender
  2. Shroud
  3. You Should’ve Seen the Other Guy
  4. Whimper and Wail

Side C

  1. Boil & Fight
  2. When We Could
  3. A Lamb on the Stone
  4. When You’re Here
  5. Happy Just to Be

Side D (Bonus Tracks)

  1. Laughing
  2. You Make All The Noise
  3. Pounds and Pounds 

Recently viewed