American Standard CD

American Standard CD

Regular price$11.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Ready to ship February 17, 2023

It takes an extraordinary artist to re-imagine some of the most beloved songs of the 20th century and make them completely their own. And that's precisely what?James?Taylor?has accomplished with his brand-new album,?American Standard. Recalling the best of?James' early work, he infuses new sounds and fresh meaning into these timeless works of art. While these 14 carefully chosen interpretations naturally feature?James' warm, one-of-a-kind vocal ability and incomparable musicianship, what makes this collection so unique is the inventive way?James?and his fellow co-producers, longtime collaborator Dave O'Donnell and famed musician John Pizzarelli, approached the project. Unlike most who have tackled similar material,?American Standard's?beautifully simple, stripped-down arrangements are based on?James' skillful acoustic guitar work rather than piano and the affect is mesmerizing.

American Standard?is the follow-up to?James' first-ever #1 album, 2015's?Before This World. It was primarily recorded at his home studio, TheBarn in Washington, MA., with additional work done at United Recording and Capitol Studios in Los Angeles and Treasure Isle and Blackbird Studios in Nashville. An all-star array of?Taylor's musical comrades makes significant contributions here including drummer, Steve Gadd; percussionist, Luis Conte; electric bassist, Jimmy Johnson; upright bassist, Viktor Krauss; keyboardist, Larry Goldings; fiddler, Stuart Duncan; dobroist, Jerry Douglas; and vocalists, Arnold McCuller, Kate Markowitz, Andrea Zonn and Dorian Holley.

A small sampling of the album's inspired repertoire includes?James' swinging take on Walter Donaldson and George A. Whiting's "My Blue Heaven," a huge hit for crooner Gene Austin in 1928; Frederick Loewe and Alan Jay Lerner's enduring "Almost Like Being In Love," from the score of the musical?Brigadoon; Hoagy Carmichael and Ned Washington's enchanting "The Nearness of You," first popularized in 1940 by the Glen Miller Orchestra; Frank Loesser's jaunty "Sit Down, You're Rockin' the Boat," from the Broadway smash?Guys and Dolls; Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II's fiercely anti-racist "You've Got To Be Carefully Taught," from?South Pacific; and?James' superb reading of the Billie Holiday-Arthur Herzog Jr. classic, "God Bless The Child."

Growing up in a musical family,?James?fell in love with the exquisite melodies, impeccable phrasing and concise storytelling of the early era songwriting masters absorbing the qualities that would become essential to his work in popular music a few years later.?American Standard?is a reminder of the things that make?James?Taylor?so special, a supreme dedication to his craft and an abiding appreciation for the everlasting power of the American song.

1. My Blue Heaven (2:42)
2. Moon River (3:13)
3. Teach Me Tonight (2:58)
4. As Easy as Rolling off a Log (2:50)
5. Almost Like Being in Love (3:42)
6. Sit Down You’re Rockin’ the Boat (4:11)
7. Nearness of You (3:52)
8. You’ve Got To Be Carefully Taught (2:26)
9. God Bless The Child (3:21)
10. Pennies From Heaven (2:52)
11. My Heart Stood Still (3:27)
12. Ol’ Man River (2:53)
13. (It’s Only) a Paper Moon (3:11)
14. The Surrey With The Fringe on Top (3:20)

This Official Fantasy Recordings Store is managed by Second City Prints. If you have any questions about merch or your order, please use our FAQ Center



Questions about your purchase and can't find the answers on the FAQ page? Please contact us here or send us a note to:

We do our best to respond to all inquiries within 1-2 business days or less.

This contact page is for the Fantasy Recordings Store only and is not a contact page for A&R or other Fantasy Recordings business.

Recently viewed